Coeburn (Town)

The Town of Coeburn is nestled in the mountains of Southwest Virginia and is situated in the southeastern portion of Wise County, just off Route 58. Originally, the town was named Guest Station after Christopher Gist. When the town was incorporated in 1894, the name was changed to Coeburn in honor of W. W. Coe, Chief Engineer of the N&W Railroad, and Judge W. E. Burns.


The home of Jim & Jesse and Ralph Stanley II, Coeburn is also widely known today for its beautiful downtown, complete with antique lamps, brick sidewalks, and pedestrian bridges. The town spans 1.9 square miles and is home to approximately 2,000 people. We are conveniently located within a 10 minute drive of lodging, restaurants and shopping.

Lays Hardware Center for the Arts is a nonprofit 501(c)3 organization that exists to promote, preserve and maintain the cultural heritage of the region through music, crafts, food, storytelling, and to educate the citizens of the region, in particular the school-age population, about their cultural heritage. The building was purchased by the Town of Coeburn and renovated in 2000. The facility is still owned by the Town of Coeburn but is operated by the Lays Hardware Center of the Arts Board of Directors and supported by the town. Located at 409 East Front Street in beautiful downtown Coeburn, Virginia, we offer live music, jam sessions, and arts, music, and crafts classes in a family-friendly atmosphere.

The Guest River Rally is held annually on Labor Day Weekend in the streets of our beautiful town and includes Food, Kids Activities, Music and a Talent Contest – Fun for the whole family!