Meador Coal Museum
©Tim & Angel Cox
East Third Street and Shawnee Avenue, Big Stone Gap, VA 24219
Date(s)/Time: Wed - Sat 10:00 - 5:00, Sun 1:00 - 5:00, Mon - Tue closed
Group Tours available by appointment.
Phone: (276) 523-9209
Museum features exhibits and objects collected by the late Harry Meador Jr., an executive with a local coal company. Museum property once served as the study of John Fox Jr, author of "Trail of the Lonesome Pine". The founder of the museum, Harry W. Meador, was an advocate of the coal mining industry. During his career, he rose from a union laborer to the Vice President of Coal Development for a local coal company. Once part of the John Fox, Jr. estate, the house was a two room building that served as a library and study. Later a wing was added and the building served as a community center for dances and other activities. Various displays exist in the museum, including a collection of photographs, mining equipment and tools, office equipment, coal company items, and a small dentist office from the early 1900's. For natives, the museum attempts to describe a personal heritage as well as provide a peek into the past. For others, it offers a rich educational experience concerning coal and its direct influence on local lifestyle.